Three Ginkgo

It’s autumn, so I know you have already looked at a gazillion (plus three) photos of changing trees.  I may have contributed to that count once or twice already this season, but I try to keep it under control.

I certainly don’t like taking the typical images, so the autumn photos are fewer and further between.  And while I’ve been keeping an eye on our town’s Japanese Garden, I haven’t spent any time there taking pictures.  Usually because it’s so overworked.  It’s a popular location, being named one of the Top 10 Great Public Spaces in America didn’t help to keep the numbers down.

Matter of fact, Goddess and I strolled through late Sunday afternoon, just as the sun was setting.  There were several photographers shuffling tripods, trying to find angles that didn’t include the other photographers, sighing out of exasperation in the rapidly failing light.

Fair enough.  I’ve been there countless times.

I was trying to stay out of their field of view, standing on a paver stone underneath the one tree I have been waiting to change this year, a ginkgo biloba tree.  The ginkgo is rapidly becoming my favorite autumn tree, not just because it’s not very often you run across one, but because of the shape and details in the leaves.  They are beautiful in summer green, even more so in autumn yellow.  It’s rapidly supplanting my other favorite, the Japanese maple, which are more common.  You’ll notice one of those maples in my banner photo at the top of the page.

Standing on the paver, I looked up to see these three ginkgo leaves framed against a backdrop of Japanese maple and I immediately knew how I wanted to shoot it the following morning.

If only the leaves would stay in place for the next 14 hours.

They did, and mid-morning was perfect as Goddess and I were the only ones there, save for a few elderly walkers enjoying the colors.  Have I mentioned that we live in a very fit town?  Seeing them working hard reminds me that I need to step up my game.  The first pic below is another reminder.

For those of you over on that social media site, you’ve already been subjected to the image Goddess caught of me getting the feature image:

Lying Down on the Job

If you click on the picture, it will take you to that social media site in a new window or tab, if you’re interested.  No Mom, it’s not necessary to get an account over there.

But  it was necessary to lie down on the ground like that.  Otherwise I would be too close for the lens to focus.  Plus, at this distance (about 5 feet) I was able to get the separation between the ginkgo and maple leaves that I wanted, even though they were really only a few inches apart.

Three Ginkgo

And like most of the other images I post on this blog, if you click on the image it will take you to my photography page, either in a new window or tab.

In the coming posts, I’ll have a few more images to share from that morning.  It turned out to be a fruitful 45 minutes.

Hopefully your autumn colors are enjoyable wherever you are.  And for my friends in the southern hemisphere, hopefully the springtime warmth is giving you plenty of green to enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Three Ginkgo”

    1. Glad that helps.

       

      If I don't describe it and you're curious, just ask.  I know a lot of folks aren't too interested in the technicals, so I don't include them.

       

      Sent: Wednesday, November 05, 2014 at 9:31 AM

Leave a Reply

