How I Learned to Stop Worrying…

I typed lots of words over the past hour or so, but have deleted them.

Instead, do some reading, if you wish.

There have been some legal shenanigans in the UK that may impact you, no matter what country you call home.

Because the shenanigans have global implications.

UK. Gov passes Instagram Act: All your pics belong to everyone now (Everyone = Silicon Valley ad platforms tech companies)

The UK’s copyright landgrab: The FAQ

And the government has a chance to explain themselves, as in “these are not the droids you are looking for“.

So after many years of purposefully no including watermarks because I find them ugly and distracting, I’m going to have to placing them on my pictures again.  This is many years after I quit worrying about somebody heisting a picture of mine and claiming it as theirs.

Grumble, grumble.

Of course, watermarks won’t keep someone from stealing.  But it may keep the honest people honest.  And the thieves will continue to steal.

Here’s a before and after:

BTS - Shorebreak

BTS - Shorebreak Wassermark

If you are new here, that’s a behind the scenes shot of one of my images.

And if it steers a bit more traffic my way, that’s a good thing.

I’ve got some beer, a new script and some time to edit/upload.  But I will not make a dent in what’s out there.  So I won’t worry.

I Love Bomb.

2 thoughts on “How I Learned to Stop Worrying…”

  1. I think it’s perfectly all right to add your name to the picture, and when tastefully done, it only adds to the work. Cyberspace is now a lot like the wild west was not so long ago… and it’ll take a while till people will learn to respect personal possessions. But I believe that eventually all people will recognize the values that guided society for thousands of years.

    1. I do hope you’re right, Shimon.

      I guess the big difference between now and the wild west is that in the wild west, there were immediate ramifications to theft, since it had to happen in a specific locale. Now it can happen on the other side of the world and take years to discover. Because of that distance and time, some consider it “victimless”. Which is not true.

Leave a Reply

