Drop Lake

Well, here’s one of the images taken while I was being caught.

Not what I had envisioned as we were driving up to the lake.  But with the rain, I had to punt.

I was looking to get images of the Zugspitze, wrapped in clouds, with some lake reflections.  But the tonal range of the scene was too much to any acceptable images.  Between the clouds wrapping the snow-capped peak and the lakeside forest, there was some five stops of difference in exposure.  I could have just gone with a completely blown out sky, but I won’t do things that way.  I could have stacked my graduated neutral density filters to temper the sky a bit, but there was really no way to keep the filters rain-drop free, even with umbrellas.

Or I could have bracketed and hoped for an acceptable HDR image.  But in my mind, that route was not acceptable, since the outcome would be unnatural in some way.  Like those ghastly examples on the Wikipedia page.

So punt it was.

Taking advantage of the whole-sky soft box, I started focusing on details.  While this isn’t so much about details, it is about the details.  Namely, the very crisp splashes and bubbles some 5-10 meters (15-30 feet) out from the front of the lens.  Not so visible in this resolution, pretty darn impressive full-sized.

Drop Lake

Plus, it was a good excuse to stand in the water, which was much warmer than the air.

Leave a Reply

