Stone Walkway

After yesterday’s nostalgic look at one of my happy places, I started digging around in the archives.

Here’s another.

Stone Walkway

Doesn’t look like much, does it?  A nice stone arch over a curved walkway.  Pretty straightforward architectural shot.

But similar to yesterday’s post, this was a revisit to a place that I had first visited almost fourteen years prior.  A scene that I shot on film and printed.

That print is framed and hanging on the wall directly behind me right now.

Although there are a lot of differences between the two, it’s the same walkway.  The original was oriented in portrait, it was shot from the opposite end of this view (so the sidewalk arches to the left) and there were very beautiful, large complementary brown, round glazed pots, evenly spaced between the columns.  It was quite a scene.

I was very disappointed to see that they had moved the pots elsewhere, since they added a unique curved element to the scene.  I did get photos of them in their “new” location, but it wasn’t the same.

Outside the technical aspects of the image, there’s more to it.

That first trip, we were lugging around a one-month old unhappy camper (it was hot and humid that day).  The trip that let me take the picture above, the boy was thirteen and standing next to me.  He’s now an adult with a family of his own.  Doing great things.

And the best part?  Even without the photos, I can quickly visualize the place and think all the same things.

But it is nice to see it.

4 thoughts on “Stone Walkway”

    1. They absolutely can be. That’s typically not my intent when I take pictures, but each and every one of them take me right back to where and when they were taken.

    1. Thank you, Shimon.

      Reworking it made me also think alot about our conversation, walking along a wall similar this one, discussing placing nostalgic value in photographs. So it was nostalgic in another way that I thought about including in the post, but chose not to. Here’s fine.

Leave a Reply

