Thankful

Well, the Thanksgiving weekend is coming to an end.

And while we certainly don’t limit being thankful to this weekend, this weekend has traditionally been one of great memories, this one included.

It also makes Goddess and I think about what has been our favorite Thanksgiving for the past several years.  One that gets us to looking at plane tickets every year to calculate how much it would cost.

It’s always enough to keep us from pushing the button.

Kyoto, Japan.

The fall colors are amazing.  The history is amazing.  The people are amazing.

Our Thanksgiving dinner in 2005, after a full day of sightseeing and acting like paparazzi with the Geisha and Maiko in Gion, was in an Irish pub.

Fish and chips, Guinness and a few shots of Irish whiskey with some great friends.

And it’s those memories that we’re thankful for.

Philosophenweg Fall Color

Speaking of thankful, this is the view from one of my favorite local runs, overlooking old Heidelberg.  Although usually at this point, which is near the top of 400′ of climbing in just over a mile, I’m sucking too much air to really enjoy it.

And the really fun part is the descent, losing the same 400′, but in only 1/2 mile.

Wheeeeee!!!!!

10 thoughts on “Thankful”

      1. I just got my first DSLR camera and I love it. Now I can’t help but take a photo of anything. I hope this doesn’t last too long as I may be lugging this camera around e-v-e-r-y-w-h-e-r-e!

      2. Not a dang thing wrong with that. I’ve been doing that for several decades now and the only time I regret it is when I reach for it and realize that I left it at home.

  1. We have been to Heidelberg in the fall before all of the lovely color and at Christmas. Thank you for your photo of what I have missed on my previous visits.

Leave a Reply

