Buttery

I’m not a white wine fan, much preferring the bold flavors of a good red.  There’s just something about the whites that doesn’t do it for me.

But that doesn’t mean that I won’t keep looking.

Especially when we’re in Dijon, France, in the heart of Burgundy, home of what are considered to be the standard-bearers of white wine, the Chardonnay’s.

So, appropriately enough, our first glasses of wine would be a Chardonnay.

Buttery

Now it didn’t make me want to run out and buy a case (six bottles), but it was pretty good.  It was smooth, it was buttery and it was a bit smoky.  I did like that.

And it was real pretty to look at, especially in the afternoon sun.

But not as pretty to look at as Goddess, sitting directly across from me.

2 thoughts on “Buttery”

  1. I was like you, for most of my life… interested mainly in red wine. But in recent years, my taste has changed. In many aspects I’ve become more conservative. In listening to music, for instance, I’ve closed up a little… I don’t have the patience anymore for experimentation… but in the case of wine, I’ve developed a tolerance and an interest in white wines too. I still prefer the red… but I can really enjoy the white as well. Too bad we don’t have a nice picture of the Goddess too, with light and shadow decorating her face… but we shall honor her privacy… after all, gods aren’t meant to be studied… enough to feel their presence.

    1. Shimon – I’ve had a few recently that didn’t give me the twinge that white’s have in the past. I don’t know if that means that my tastes have changed or if we’ve just got lucky with a few good ones. I know that there are good ones out there and I’m willing to continue looking.

      BTW, there’s a glimpse of Goddess in https://billanders.wordpress.com/2011/11/05/yum/. ;^)

Leave a Reply

