Spring!

A gorgeous day here in Germany.  The perfect way to greet spring.

We stopped off at the Schwetzingen Castle Gardens to see if the cherry blossoms has started.  They had.  The trees still have a few days, if not another week, before they’ll be in full bloom, but we had a nice viewing today.

Not the same as a hanami (sakura viewing) in Japan, but this will definitely do.

Plus it gave me a chance to stretch my legs with the new toy.

Quite an impressive little package this camera is.  Even at pixel-peeping levels, I’d venture to say that in the same situation, with the same settings, this camera gives my 20D with either a 100/2.8 or 200/2.8L some stiff competition.

I won’t go out on a limb and say that it’s better, but it’s quickly approaching the quality.

4 thoughts on “Spring!”

  1. I don’t want to spoil your pleasure. The G12 is a fine tool. But it doesn’t have the quality of the 20D. All of those pixels are squeezed on a much smaller sensor, and that makes a serious difference in quality. You see it when you print large prints. I use both large cameras and compacts, and like compacts very much. On the computer, the difference is not always visible. But when you’re shooting in low light conditions, you can sometimes see the differences even on the computer. Still, you can get some wonderful results… and I’m sure you will. I like this shot very much.

    1. Shimon,

      Of course. That’s why I stuck to the “same situation, same settings” point of view. But I’ve already found a few weaknesses with shadows, just like you described.

      This G12 certainly won’t replace my 20D, even when the 20D eventually dies. But it’s certainly earning a spot in my pocket.

      Take care, Bill

Leave a Reply

