I Shed a Tear

While browsing this site (click the pic for a look):

Photo © Richard Nicholson

It wasn’t that long ago, but eons ago, in 1989, when I first stepped into a darkroom.  Over the next three years while I had access to that darkroom, countless hours were spent in the dark, even when it was beautiful and sunny outside.  I really miss the satisfaction gained from developing my own film and prints.

Now don’t get me wrong.  I still enjoy working with photos on the computer, especially once I had the realization that I could process a single photo in just a fraction of the time that it would take in the darkroom.  And at a significant fraction of the cost.  I have a few B&W prints from that time in the darkroom that took entire boxes of paper to get right.  Now I can do the same work in a few minutes.

So while there is progress, it’s sad to see an era pass.

One thought on “I Shed a Tear”

Leave a Reply

