T minus 37

Hey everyone.  Long time, no blog.  Almost a month, apparently.

All is going well here in Iraq.  Not as dusty as May – July have been.  A little bit here and there, but nothing widespread for days on end.  In other words, the way summer should be here.

As the title suggests, it’s only 37 days until my big event here in Iraq.  In celebration of my 40th birthday, I decided, as a goal to keep me focused while I was here, to run 40 miles that day.  Well, I’ve had to move it forward a few days due to some work and support issues, so I’ll actually be about three days shy of my 40th when I do it.  But that’s OK.  It’s the spirit that counts, right?

So I’m starting my last Build cycle.  I’m looking forward to it and dreading it at the same time.  The last build cycle was pretty tough, getting me to a 31-mile weekend on top of working 12-hour days.  The weekend went (Fri-Sun) 3.5/19/8.  The last few miles of that 8-miler on Sunday were very tough mentally to get through.  Perfect training for the 40-miler, dontcha think?

I’ll write more on this build cycle later.

For a couple of months I’ve been trying to figure out how to make this birthday run a bit more meaningful.  I mean, running 40 miles in one day is pretty meaningful, but just to me.  So I started mulling over different charities.  I even contacted a few, but apparently they’re rolling in donations, since they didn’t bother to reply.

One of the most meaningful charities that I could find, one that hits a bit close to home, is the Fisher House.  Please follow the link in the upper left of this blog and do some reading.  A wonderful effort to support the families of our men and women in uniform who are either injured in war or peace, or are ill and need long-term medical care.

So while I know that everyone likes to push for a charity and there are sooooo many deserving causes, please take a moment to read and reflect on what this organization does for those that serve our country.

6 thoughts on “T minus 37”

  1. 40 miles through the desert? I guess that might feel better than drinking 40 beer on your birthday. Not sure though. Good on ya for choosing this charity. I just watched the movie Stop Loss last night and therefore am quite struck by the plight of the injured vets when they return home.

  2. Hey Bill….good to hear that you are doing well. Given your work weeks and training schedule, I don’t know how you do it.

    take care…t

  3. Hey Bill

    ok…..for some reason, wordpress doesn’t like my post. Let’s try this one: nice training. I don’t know how you manage with your work and training volume.

    take care…t

  4. You better believe 40 miles within just a few days counts. Heck – within about 40 years of your birthday would count for me.

    Nice choicce of a charity, I have a friend who just got out of the Fisher House after about 6 months. I’m happy to help.

  5. Yea Bill,
    I love when you post it makes me happy!
    I am so impressed with your 40 miles and your giving heart! You are out there working for our freedom and STILL thinking of others.
    You are the best!
    Take Care

Leave a Reply

