Flingin’ Flies and a 4 & 30 16

The title sums up the week.

Flingin’ flies refers to my afternoons this week.  For a few of them we drove down to a nearby stream to do some fishing.  For me, it was time to trust the muscle memory and try and find my fly cast.  I had tossed a few flies while living in Australia some 8 years ago, but it had been closer to 13 years since I had done it with any frequency.

Amazing how the muscles can remember such things.  The first day was sloppy, but it was getting there.  By Friday, the casts were long and clean, even to the side while trying to get under the overhanging trees.  I’m used to nice western rivers with broadly spaced pines, not this bushy, brusy tangled mess along both sides of the stream.  Needless to say, I left a few flies in the trees this week.

Tuesday was to see them stock several thousand rainbows and browns.  I don’t think they did, since we received over 2″ of rain that day and the creeks were flooded.  Even by Friday the trout weren’t really there, although Goddess hooked a pretty little 4″ (keep the jokes clean, folks.  OK.  Don’t).  Hopefully they just slipped stocking a week.  Regardless, a day standing waist deep in cool water and casting is much better than being holed up in the house.

As for the other part of the title, that refers to today’s run.  After last Saturday’s 1/2 marathon and the painful aftermath, the week’s running has been low and slow.  And today’s run was to be LSD.  A slow start and I finally got going around 11am.  No particular reason.  It was just a slow morning.

I decided within the first 100 yards that I was going to try a modified Galloway plan and run for 4 minutes, walk for 30 seconds.  Except I didn’t have a timer, so I had to keep an eye on the time.  Easier said than done.  By the time I got about 4 miles into the run, there were several sections where I was into my groove and missed the start of my walk time, so I’d have to recaculate.

All-in-all I’d have to say that it’s an effective method.  I felt just as strong through miles 14-16 as I did through miles 4-6, even though I’d amassed a fair bit of climbing in the intervening miles.  Average pace was 10:18; the run legs were 9:30’s and the walks were 14’s.  Although in the end the average pace is all that matters, I was still impressed with how I felt those last few miles.

I’ll give it another go on next weekend’s 20-miler.

Oooops, gotta run.  TV babe Tina Fey is on SNL.

2 thoughts on “Flingin’ Flies and a 4 & 30 16”

  1. I started off doing the run/walk thing back two years ago. It’s an interesting strategy.

    I’ve never gone/been fly-fishing. Only boat-fishing in Puget Sound.

Leave a Reply

