‘Tis the Season(?)

…But I’m not exactly sure which season it is.

I think this guy’s got the right idea about how the season’s being celebrated by the masses. Damn shame, too. Goddess and I shake our heads at the news coverage and the interviews with people. What really floored me was reading an article recently where a guy admitted that he took out a home equity line of credit just to fund this Christmas. Crazy! (I really wish I could find that link again).

Goddess and I have many reasons to be joyful throughout the year, so we look at Christmas as just another day; every day we wake up and fall asleep together is a great day.

She’s making the brine right now to soak the turkey that I’ll smoke tomorrow. I still don’t think that qualifies as an event, since it’s something we do a couple of times a year.

On another note, I just found out that I won this year’s game, so I’m quite pleased. It’s a game that is played throughout the year and the results aren’t known until the last couple of weeks of the year. It’s the tax game. And my game is to come as close to zero as possible. We came out only a Jackson away from that target, so that’s a win!

And in case you’re wondering, it doesn’t matter whether it’s a plus-Jackson or minus-Jackson. It’s just like trying to hit the bullseye. That’s right – no refund or payment is a complete win. That’s the target, but it is difficult to hit. Although one day I’d love to see a single-digit number.

We do wish each and every one of you a joyous season, whatever your beliefs. And here’s hoping that 2008 is a year in which you find joy and prosperity. So get out there and celebrate the real reasons for the season.  I’m off to give Goddess a hug.  😀

3 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season(?)”

  1. He he hee! As my accountant pointed out, “tax is optional”. Of course, it’s a bit of a pain visiting him, but at least he’s now out of Maximum Security!

    I hope you and Mrs Jen (?) Bill-Goddess have a great Christmas – as you’ve alluded, it’s about the company, not the stuff – though of course, a good meal is good to share with good company.
    Karl.

  2. People get carried away this time of year. And everyone is SO stressed out and angry at each other, standing in long lines, waiting in traffic, honking, etc., etc. I just sigh and go for a run.

  3. @Rachel,

    Amen!

    I’m just amazed at the amount of self-induced stress that folks put on themselves to try and make one day perfect. I know that we, as triathletes, do something similar, but I have a sneaking suspicion that what we do is healthier.

    Today was a beautiful day for a run. Tomorrow will be too.

    Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

