HOW100

As you may or may not know, September is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

So why’s it in my blog, you might ask? It’s a topic that’s near and dear to my heart.

Some good people around this here blogosphere are doing some good things to raise awareness. One that comes to mind immediately is Brian, aka Triboomer, who will be carrying 500+ names of our friends and family that have been touched by cancer, during his quest to finish IMMoo this coming Sunday.

Another that comes to mind is my very own Goddess, who will try to complete her very first 29 mile ride this Saturday at the Hope on Wheels 100 (HOW100). She’s sat by, supporting me in my quest to complete my first IM-distance race. This one’s for her.

If you’d like to support her, you can through the HOW100 web site. If you click on this sponsor page, select the pull-down menu and select Jennifer Anders. We’ve found that the page is not Firefox-friendly, so you’ll have to use IE.

Alternatively, if you’d like to provide the great support that you all do through this page, just leave a comment at the bottom of this entry. She reads them all.

And what will I be doing? Of course, I will be there to support and cheer on my Goddess. It’s the least I can do for the one who has given me nothing but unwavering support. But I’ll also be working. I’ve signed on as the event photographer, so I can combine several loves in one event. What a deal!

I hope all is well with each of you.

6 thoughts on “HOW100”

  1. Jennifer, my daughter, I am so proud of you. For what you have accomplished, most importantly for the special person that you are. I am so honored to be your mother. It brought tears to my eyes and a lump in my throat to know you rode 29 miles for such a worthy cause. Your sacrifice of time and effort have made a positive difference in the lives of those, who are longing for a cure for cancer. The money raised will help many people. Grandma Choate and Grandma Stuart would have been so proud of you. Thank you!
    Love,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

