Diversion

Yeah, I’m supposed to be writing my final essay for my class. It was due a week ago. Oh, and I’m supposed to be studying for my final this coming week. But that can wait.

Work this coming week looks to be a bit on the insane side, so instead of the final week of my last build cycle before taper, I’ll be lucky to get a few hours in. Looks like I’ll be starting my taper early. So I’ll likely pull my 8 hour brick forward and knock it out tomorrow. Then focus on shorter, quicker workouts this week when I have the time.

So for the diversion. One of the greatest mashups ever has been a band called Beatallica, a mix between The Beatles and Metallica. Absolutely hilarious, absolutely brilliant. You’d swear it was parody, but it’s serious just the same.

A few years back they posted their songs on a web page as free mp3’s. Needless to say, Sony wasn’t happy with the idea, since it was Beatles music. So after a few years of legal wrangling, Beatallica is free and clear to distribute their music. And they have, with their first official release – Sgt. Hetfield’s Motorbreath Pub Band. The title alone is an excellent nod to both bands.

Here’s a fanimation video of one of their songs, I Wanna Choke Your Band.

I swear, the singer can nail James Hetfield‘s voice perfectly.

13 thoughts on “Diversion”

  1. Awesome!!!

    I love Beatles Mashups.

    Have you ever heard the Beastles? Beastie Boys + Beatles. Great stuff. Done by a dj BC. He actually does a pure mashup where he samples the two sounds and plays them simultaneously with speed adjustment to make the rhythms sync up appropriately.

    I got one of his MP3 albums before the were shut down that included an awesome mashup of Tripple Trouble and Day Tripper called “Tripper Trouble”.

  2. Oh yeah… Similar to this Beatallica… have you heard of Dread Zeppelin? They’re a Reggae version of Lead Zeppelin sung by an Elvis impersonator named Elvez. After they burned through the Led Zeppelin classics they moved on to Disco covers… crazy stuff.

  3. Brad,

    I have heard of Dread Zeppelin. Good stuff. I haven’t heard of dj BC, so I’ll have to go check that out. We’re huge fans of the Beastie’s.

    Another thing that we’ve been digging is the bluegrass covers of bands like Metallica, Black Sabbath, etc. Definitely some interesting interpretations. Just like the string bands covering Metallica and Pantera. Some way out there stuff.

  4. Tea – This term it’s just a Research class, which means a lot of writing. The tough part was that we had to pick one topic at the beginning of the term and stick with it through multiple papers, which gets pretty dang tough. So I picked the decline of Physical Education classes in public schools.

  5. As was once said of another band, “Utterly b@$t@rd groovy!”.

    Another mash-up band I like is Hayseed Dixie, playing ACDC, country style. They even invented a back story to explain this bizarre bu strangely compelling combination. They played Newcastle a couple of seeks back . . . and unbelievably I only found out about it the day after the gig 😦

  6. Karl – the funny part is I read right past those, so if you hadn’t mentioned it, I wouldn’t have noticed. BTW, Hayseed Dixie looks to be a fine group of gents.

  7. Thanks for the heads up on Beatallica. I’m a big Metallica fan, the singer does sound just like Hetfield…funny stuff.

  8. Oh my gosh, Bill!!!

    I’ve been a fan of this band since 2004. They’ve had some of their songs available online for the longest time. I’m glad they’ve actually released a CD of their songs. The band got into trouble with Metallica’s management for a while. Unbeknownst to them, Lars and James were huge fans and told their people to let them go. One of their biggest gigs was actually opening for Dream Theater in their own home territory.

Leave a Reply

