Tagged

Although you can’t see it, I’m shaking my fist at Brad, who tagged me with his questions. What’s really interesting is seeing the similarities between his answers and what some of mine will be.

Jobs I’ve held-

  • Paperboy (2x)
  • US Air Force (past 20+ years) as a “professional liar”. The real job is weather forecasting, but you all wouldn’t believe me, since you wouldn’t believe my forecasts. 😉

Movies I Can Watch Over & Over-

  • Bicentennial Man. Excellent story of life, love and optimism.
  • Koyaanisqatsi. I first saw it at PBS soon after it was released back in 1982. The music and imagery floored me. Just this past year I finally got to see Philip Glass perform live, which was amazing.
  • Memoirs of a Geisha. I love the story, but really love the scenes, since I’ve been lucky enough to have visit many of them.
  • Blazing Saddles. Actually, anything Mel Brooks has done. I love the double entendre’s and wry twists on words. Madenline Kahn was pure genius as Lili Von Shtupp, the Teutonic Temptress.

I will have to tip my hat to Brad’s choice of Repo Man. What a great movie for the time, with the soundtrack of my youth. That and Suburbia.

My Guilty Pleasures-

I’m not guilty. Not one bit. They are my pleasures and I apologize to no one.

  • My lovely bride.
  • Beer. The darker the better.
  • Chocolate. Just like beer, the darker the better. Gimme a block of baker’s chocolate and a cup of coffee and I’m in heaven.
  • Bourbon. Which explains why I’m a Maker’s Mark Ambassador.
  • A good cigar. Especially with a good bourbon. They complement each other so well.
  • Books. I continue to buy them and am currently reading about seven, although I don’t have time to read. I have no idea how many I have in shelves and piles that I haven’t read yet.
  • Karaoke. Not the bastardized American version, but the real Japanese version. Forget standing up on stage and being the center of attention, because that’s not what it’s about. Instead, you’re packed into a small bar with 20 of your closest friends, passing the microphone around, drinking, singing and having a great time. Some of my repertoire: Marilyn Manson’s “The Beautiful People”, Green Day’s “Basket Case”, CCR’s “Bad Moon Rising”, John Denver’s “Country Roads”, etc.

Places I Have Lived-

  • S. Bay, San Fransisco
  • Norfolk, VA
  • Reno, NV
  • Yokohama, Japan
  • Ridgecrest, CA
  • Coronado, CA
  • Chula Vista, CA
  • Marysville, CA
  • Okinawa, Japan
  • Mountain Home, ID
  • Oklahoma City, OK
  • Exmouth, Northwest Cape, Western Australia
  • Fort Walton Beach, FL
  • Tokyo, Japan
  • Clarksville, TN

Shows I Enjoy-

Places I have Been on Vacation-

  • Venice, Italy
  • Hamburg, Germany
  • Oahu, Hawaii
  • Perth, Western Australia
  • Sydney, Australia
  • Kyoto, Japan
  • Sapporo, Japan

Favorite Foods-

  • Japanese
  • Mexican
  • Italian
  • Greek
  • Whatever doesn’t get to me first. My Aussie friends thought I was nuts because I carried a tube of wasabi in the glove compartment of my ute (pickup). Whenever we’d go fishing, I’d eat the mackerel as we cleaned them. Octopus too, although I gained a respect for occy’s and refused to hunt them any more.

Websites I visit Daily-

  • My my.yahoo page. News, cartoons, stories and e-mail.
  • My DeviantArt page. Just to see what sorts of comments I’m still getting on my photography, although I’m nowhere near as active as I was a couple of years ago.
  • My Google Reader page, which is a repository for all of my blog feeds.
  • And the myriad pages I need for work.

Body Parts I have injured-

  • My tongue. As a teenager, while surfing, I hit a bit of chop and it knocked the nose of my board up, hitting me in the chin. I then bit the corner of my tongue almost clean off; it was hanging by a thread. I should’ve got stitches, but that would have meant visiting the doctor, but I wouldn’t have any of that. It eventually healed.
  • My ankle. Rolled it so hard going off a diving board that the grip tape on the board scraped the top of my foot off. Again, should’ve gone to the doctor, but wasn’t having any of that. It eventually healed.
  • I’ve never broken a bone or got stitches due to an accident (knockin’ on serious wood here). My total stitch count is still under 10, and those were all for elective procedures.

Awards You’ve Won-

  • A few job-related ones (yeah, I’m cheating here).

Nicknames you’ve been called-

  • Bill
  • Billy-jo-bob-bob-a-looie (by a good Aussie friend).
  • And I’m sure quite a few R-rated ones.

Pick 4 Other Bloggers…

A tough one. There are quite a few that I’d like to know more about, but know that folks like their privacy. So…

Well, that’s about it. Off to bed early tonight. Tomorrow’s my race simulation brick, which means 112 miles on the bike followed by a run of unknown distance. The run ends when I hit 8 hours total time, so it could be anywhere from 4 miles to 10 miles. The beauty is that I get to drive out to the location for my September IM-distance race, so I’ll get a good feel for the ride and run courses.

2 thoughts on “Tagged”

  1. House! I should have mentioned that one too… My wife and I found it in reruns… and got addicted to it.

    I also love whiskey of all kinds… but I prefer Rye…. my standby cocktail if the bar has Rye is always an “extra dry Rye Manhattan with a splash of Gin”… which I guess you shouldn’t really call a Manhattan… but it’s how I like it.

Leave a Reply

