Catching Up

Rain, rain, go away.

Well, not that I mind the rain, especially since the corn needs it. And I don’t mind the rain during runs and rides. It’s the lightning that’s a bitch. And the rest of this week doesn’t look any better.

It’s been a while since I’ve updated, but that’s life.

So what’s been going on?

Music-wise, we drove up to Evansville a week ago Sunday to see Tool in concert. Excellent show.

The warmup band was a Japanese noise band called Melt Banana. The best way to describe them is that you’ll have to imagine a band that combines the best of Discharge and Einsturzende Neubauten, fronted by Kate Bush on speed. Although you’d have to imagine that Kate would actually deign to let out dog yelps on occasion. Definitely too esoteric for the Midwest US crowd.

Tool played for right at two hours. Nice to see, given ticket prices. Now, I find the ticket prices to be reasonable; it’s the t-shirt prices that have gone insane. I guess it’s been 10 years since I’ve gone to a large arena show, but $38-$43 for a t-shirt is starting to gouge the fans a bit much. Anway, the music was solid and filled the arena well. We had general admission tickets for the floor, so for the first half of the show we weren’t but 20 feet away from the stage. After a while, we got tired of standing on the concrete floor, as well as having smoke (both legal and otherwise) blown in our face by the considerate ones that decided that the no smoking regulations of the venue didn’t apply to them, so we bought some sodas and grabbed some seats way up in the nosebleed section. Actually it was a much better view of the entire show and the sound was better. Imagine that. Definitely a worthwhile move.

Next concert on the schedule will be Alison Kraus and Union Station featuring Jerry Douglas. My lovely bride and I are definitely looking forward to this show, although the 16 year old boy has opted out. We were about to pounce on tickets for the following weekend to go see Linkin Park‘s Projekt Revolution 2007 up in Indianapolis, but then realized that although the ticket prices were good for an all-day festival, we had no desire to see any of the supporting bands. Too emo for my taste.

I’m going to have to get a second job to support my music habit. On top of my other second job to support my tri habit. On top of my other job to support my (fill in the blank) habit. Ad nauseam.

Training’s going well. I’ve shifted my focus more to getting in time on the bike and on the run and cutting back on the swim. I can swim like a fish, so I really don’t need to grind out a gazillion yards. That won’t help my race. But higher bike and run volume will. So that’s where I’m headed.

But it’s been so bloody humid here lately. This morning’s 10.5 mile run was good, except it was 70F and 100% humidity at sunrise this morning. It was bad enough that I actually carried water for the first time on a run and drained the 20 oz bottle by the 7 mile point. And the bad part about my sweating out every ounce of moisture in my body is that the shirt gets soaked. That’s when I realize that I forgot to put bandaids on; now the pink stain on the shirt looks real yummy! Perhaps it’s time to buy some Nippits.

On top of all that, I had a 1000-1500 word essay due yesterday. And in fine Bill form, I started researching on Saturday night and wrote on Sunday while watching the four different Ironman-branded races. Got it done with time to spare. The worst part about it was doing the research on Physical Education classes in the US. Do you realize that on a daily basis, only 18% of all students actually partake in a PE class? And only about half of those actually participate? Is it any wonder that we’re getting so fat as a nation?

Ah well, time to knock out the homework for this week. Business travel at week’s end up to St Louis. Luckily it’s close enough that I can drive, so the family can go with me. What a deal.

Hope all’s well with you.

3 thoughts on “Catching Up”

  1. Where is the Allison Kraus concert?…I might need to take my Dad to that one, we are both fans! Lincon Park I fell in love with while coaching a boys high school soccer team. My second season Numb came out and they would often blast that album from their cars before or after practice…finally one of them copied it for me and the rest, as they say, is history!
    Your training is impressive, as always (I think nippits might be another reason I am glad to be a girl), hope ya’ll have fun in St Louis!

  2. Hey Bill

    I think Melt Banana will be coming to town too–I may have to check expenses vs disposable income before making a final decision to attend the show. You may want to check the groups Maynard listens to: Pelican (who just dropped a new one a few weeks ago), Boris, Sunn 0))), and (my favorite lately) Jesu.

    BTW, I’ll have to get a copy of a studio recording session I did with a friend. We did a cover of The Lucky One for her CD. I never thought I could do a bluegrass-style guitar solo, but managed to pull it off!

Leave a Reply

