Catching up…

Well, it’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve updated. Not on purpose, but it just worked that way.

My recovery week went well. Almost too well. I had a three day business trip during the last half of the week. I even took my running shoes to be good. But too many old friends and co-workers were there, so I did my best to eat my weight in hot wings and beer. So it wasn’t a total loss. But it meant too many days off from any exercise. Which burnt me in the end.

At the start of this week, my first workout was a simple 4.5 mile run. Nothing hard. But my legs hurt afterwards as if I had gone a hard 10. And they hurt that way for two days. That was my payback for the wings and beer. Karma’s a bitch.

Otherwise a good training week. Lots of hours, ramping up to my peak before my 1/2 Iron on May 19th.

In other news, we’ve got our hummingbird feeders up. They are a never-ending source of entertainment in our house. We never realized how territorial they were until we hung the feeders up in front of the window last year. Nothing like watching them dance around each other like something out of the Matrix movies. Something like this:

Last night we had up to seven flitting about the two feeders on the front porch at one time. Quite a sight.

Sixteen hours this coming week, including a looooooooooong brick, then it’s time for the taper. Definitely time to get the affairs in order and trust in the training.

2 thoughts on “Catching up…”

  1. 16 hours this week? Wow. As a collegiate triathlete, I am forever impressed by adults who have families and (real) jobs, not to mention mortgages and electric bills, who can still find the time to train 10+ hours a week. Seriously, how do you handle all of it? Because I’m hoping that I’ll be able to maintain my triathlete lifestyle after graduation (in 2 weeks), but I honestly don’t know how it’s going to work out.

Leave a Reply

