Winter Begone!

We’ve had enough of you. Especially after the summer tease over the past few weeks. The first few days of this cold snap weren’t too bad, needing just knickers for the ride. But yesterday and today was enough.

Friday saw flurries during my late afternoon run. A run that showed me signs that I was overreaching. I couldn’t buy a Zone 3 heart rate to save my life, no matter how much I ramped up the pace. I’d get right to the ceiling of Zone 2 and that would be it. So I made sure I rested 24 hours before I worked out Saturday.

The cold continued on Saturday, although luckily there were no flurries. Instead, there was a 25 mph headwind no matter what direction I turned (well, OK, I did have a tailwind for about five minutes of the 2:40 ride). It was one of those days. And the overreaching reared its ugly head throughout the ride. Same issue as yesterday. I seriously considered bagging the run portion of today’s brick, but figured I’d see how that went.

I’m glad I did.

Even though I was spinning squares on the ride, my feet were flying on the run. I couldn’t figure that out. I still had some issues with being able to force my heart rate to rise, but I was at least able to bust into Zone 3. And after 45 miles of spinning squares, I was still able to hold a very comfortable 7:35 pace for 40 minutes. Certainly not speedy, but still much quicker than my planned 10:00 pace during my Iron-distance race later this year.

Go figure.

And now for something completely different.

Now, I’m not a huge Alanis Morissette fan. But she made this crap song sound good. And the video really makes it!

2 thoughts on “Winter Begone!”

  1. Summertime,
    And the livin’ is easy
    Fish are jumpin’
    And the cotton is high…

    😀

    We have wonderful weather but I must confess, I do miss snow because we didn’t have any this winter 😦

Leave a Reply

