Catching Up & Tallies

It’s been a couple of weeks since the last update, but that’s OK. One of my overarching annual goals is to remain balanced between family, training and work. Some things have to give.

It’s spring break here. And spring sprung with a vengeance. After being spoiled the last couple of weeks with lows of 60 and highs of 80, it’s now 30/45. Just in time for me to take some time off and enjoy myself. But instead of waking up early to get my rides, runs and swims in, I’m now sleeping in to let it warm up. Seems like a fair trade to me; I’m done with winter.

One thing I’ve been enjoying is that I’m noticeably getting stronger. That’s the idea, right? Faster is another story, but I’m not worried about that. After doing a bit of research and discussion with other folks, I rebuilt my training plan for the year to take out my build periods and focus on more base.

Last week was my first week of my build phase toward my first 1/2 Iron-distance race, but the switch from endurance to speed work was taking a toll. And not necessarily in a good way. For the second time this year (let’s not talk about the first), I was concerned about hurting myself. Even with that, I was enjoying the change in workout types; the speed pain felt good! But speed isn’t my focus for my two big races this year, finishing is. And that’s where the base training comes in to play. So back to base it is.

After a solid run through the hills yesterday, I was feeling great about where I am. Out of curiousity I looked back at what I’ve done in the past month and so far this year. The numbers look something like this:

March

Swim= 35,227 yards (20.02 miles) / 16 hours, 55 minutes
Bike = 270.35 miles / 18 hours
Run = 104.96 miles / 15 hours, 45 minutes
Strength = 3 hours (typically one session a week)

2007

Swim= 59,993 yards (34.09 miles) / 32 hours, 20 minutes
Bike = 515 miles / 37 hours
Run = 191.99 miles / 32 hours, 35 minutes
Strength = 13 hours, 20 minutes (early on it was two sessions a week)

For me, the most interesting thing is realizing that March’s volume for each discipline (except strength) is more than the volume for January and February combined.

As if that wasn’t enough of a confidence builder, my brick this past weekend really did it for me. After a very comfortable 58 mile ride in just under three hours, I felt great on my 5 mile run. That bodes well for my 1/2 Iron-distance race that’s coming in just six short weeks.

On another note, I cannot praise Pearl Izumi’s Ultrasensor Race Lid enough. For me, there’s only two states of being – completely dry and dripping sweat. 100 yards into a brisk walk and I’m already sweating. Nothing I can do about it. I’ve inherited the condition.

On rides and runs, sunglasses are completely useless to me after about 15 minutes. So I suffer with the bugs and sun in my eyes.

I picked up the hat at my local running shop this past weekend. My lovely bride balked at the price ($22 for a hat you’ll only wear while running?) but she knows of my sweat issues.

Anyway, yesterday, at about the 5 mile point, I noticed that I hadn’t had to wipe the sweat from my eyes not a single time. I grabbed the bill of the cap and it was sopping wet. It had done a great job of wicking the sweat away from my head. Another mile or so into the run and I turned so that the wind was a quartering head wind. At that point, the hat became a hydration-recycle system, with the sweat dripping off of the bill and straight on to my lips.

I got home and told my lovely bride that I’m going back to buy more!

Anyway, enough of the update. Time to turn some laps in the water. Water that’s a good 40 degrees warmer than the air outside.

One thought on “Catching Up & Tallies”

Leave a Reply

