Wrenchin’

As I mentioned early last week, I’ve started coursework at the United Bicycle Institute (UBI), which will lead eventually towards qualification and certification to wrench on bicycles.

I’ve wrenched on my own bikes for 25 years, but after last week’s intro class, I realized several things that I had been doing wrong.

Making things harder on myself than the task needed to be.

So while that course was a refresher on most topics, it was casual, running about 3-4 on a 1-10 scale.

These next few weeks will be different, running about a 7-8 on that same scale, with a few days spiking up to 11.

Wrenchin'

Wrenchin’

Tomorrow we will be handed an empty hub, 32 spokes, 32 spoke nipples and an bare rim.  By the end of the day, we’ll have to have made a completely functional, safe bicycle wheel.

Luckily our tolerances will be pretty loose – ±1mm (±0.039′) since we’ll be using well-worn equipment tomorrow.  At the end of the month, we’ll use brand new equipment and the tolerances will be ±0.1mm (±0.0039″).

And I am having so much fun!

Hopefully you are too, doing whatever it is that you are doing.

2 thoughts on “Wrenchin’

  1. *giggle giggle* love it. If you build me a bike I’ll break down a lamb for you, and then Jen can “practice” on both of us… :-D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 925 other followers

